A useful and timeless oval coffee table

A useful and timeless oval coffee table

Some designs look timeless in the sense that they may have been made some time in the past or they may be modern, it is just difficult to tell.

Furniture like this is very useful to the 3D designer since it can fit into interiors representing many different periods of time. Whilst this design would not, I feel, fit into a pre-war interior it would look very nice as a mid-century piece or even something more modern, right up to the present day.

The basic design for this coffee table appeared, as far as I can tell, in the 1950s or 1960s because I remember seeing images of oval tables produced during this period. However, as I said above, designs like this tend to be quite timeless and tables using a similar design are still in production today.

I have to be honest and say that this table, once I saw it and did some research, has fast become one of my favourites and will be almost certainly an item that we will purchase for our own home sometime in the near future. It is excellent as pure design because the oval shape lends itself to a lot of exciting furniture placement. It is also so different to the normal rectangular table and catches the light in quite a different way. I had in mind positioning this up against a wall where the shape and quality of the wood will show up well against, as in this case, a plain wall.

This table, if it were real, would be a less than 2 foot in height and overall less than 4 foot across and around 2 foot deep which I think are nice proportions. Hopefully, in a room, this will make the coffee table look big but not enormous, at least in most UK rooms.

The model was created in Cinema 4D and textured with a wood surface that I created with Filter Forge and the final render uses a simple room set that I use to test the look of new models. I also had in mind making the C4D model available if anyone wanted to use it.

A full size image is on my Flickr page which is here.

About Mike
I design and create 3D interiors and mid-century inspired surface patterns

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.